Former Residence of the Archbishop of Nagasaki
旧長崎大司教館 (Kyu Nagasaki Daishikyokan)

The building is the reconstructed residence of the first Archbishop of Nagasaki, built before Oura Church. The building was designed in his final years by Father de Rotz, and constructed by Yosuke Tetsukawa, who was famous for his ecclesiastical architecture. The building was completed in 1915. Originally a bishops’ residence, it was upgraded to an archbishops’ residence in 1959 when the Bishop of Nagasaki was made an Archbishop. However, after the Archbishop moved to nearby Urakami Cathedral in 1962 it became the residence of the Chief Priest of Oura Church, and was then, and is now, commonly known as the “Former residence of the Archbishop of Nagasaki.”
 
The building cleverly uses the sloping land upon which it was built with one basement floor and three floors above ground. It is constructed primarily in brick but some wood was also used in its construction. The north side of the building facing the road consists of a supporting brick façade from top to base, while the other three sides are surrounded by a generously proportioned veranda. The roof is two-tiered with gabled ends on the north façade, while the south façade has a hipped roof of fired clay tiles. The handsome shape of the building that follows a classic style while retaining a simplicity and clear-cut flat surfaces in a central corridor format is its special feature, while the way it runs parallel with Father de Rotz’s first design, the Former Latin Seminario Nagasaki, enhances its value.  

Browse Nearby Spots

Key information on the cultural property

Designated categoryPrefecture-Designated Tangible Cultural Property
Registered dateMarch 4, 2011
Address5-3 Minami Yamate-machi, Nagasaki
Proprietary rightsRoman Catholic Archdiocese of Nagasaki