The Former British Consulate in Nagasaki
旧長崎英国領事館 (Kyu Nagasaki Eikoku Ryojikan)

In the year 1858 treaties of amity and commerce were concluded between Japan and the five nations of America, Holland, Russia, Great Britain and France, after which Nagasaki was opened up as a port for free trade, and diplomatic business between the nations concerned commenced.
 
This building was constructed as the British Consulate in line with a design by William Cowan, a Shanghai-based English engineer, and was built by Goto Kametaro of Oura-machi in Nagasaki, who completed the work in 1908.
 
The main building is of brick construction with a veranda running around the façade and two sides on both the first and second floors. The design places an emphasis on the nature of the façade with the two circular windows at each extreme of the building, and the embellishing of the first floor walls and arch with granite.
 
The entire complex including the original main building, various annexes, personnel accommodation, gate and the wall to the front are in an excellent state of preservation, and the design plans and specifications are still in tact. As an example of a Western-style building of the late Meiji Era (around the start of the 20th century), the consulate is important in historic and scenic terms for its shape and design, and highly valuable as a record displaying early modern Japanese diplomatic history.

Browse Nearby Spots

Key information on the cultural property

Designated categoryNationally Designated Important Cultural Property
Registered dateMarch 18, 1990
Address 1-37 Oura-machi, Nagasaki City
Proprietary rightsNagasaki City